Whole Wheat Pumpkin Banana Bread

whole wheat pumpkin banana bread

Baby smell. It’s powerful stuff.

Someone told me that babies emit pheromones from the top of their heads that make whoever is holding them feel instantly happy. I’m not sure how sound the logic is on that one…but I can admit that the combination of Johnson and Johnson, baby powder, Tide, and baby hair make my heart all melty.

And if you would have told me that I would be typing this a year ago, I probably would have laughed in your face.

Such is life.

I’ve been working quite a bit lately on some big music therapy projects that include launching two new programs in the community. Although it’s incredibly exciting work and I love doing it, I’m also feeling that split that most working mothers experience where they want to be two places at once.

Sometimes I need my baby smell fix so badly that I’m tempted to Ava’s Johnson and Johnson shampoo out in the parking lot.

What has become the absolute highlight of my day is coming home, putting on a pot of coffee (and using my new favorite pumpkin spice creamer), whipping up a batch of something fall-like and tasty, a having me some glorious, uninterrupted Ava-time.

I made some of this Whole Wheat Pumpkin Banana bread last week, which I had found online via FoodGawker (a website that I find myself constantly getting sucked into) and I was thrilled with the way it turned out. Who knew that pumpkin and banana worked really well together? I sure didn’t! Needless to say, it didn’t really last too long.

Here’s the recipe!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Banana Bread

adapted from Liv Life
 
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup plain or vanilla yogurt
2/3 cup brown sugar
2 Tbs honey
2 large eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup mashed banana
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
 
1. Grease or spray a loaf pan and set aside. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. 
 
2. In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine the first nine ingredients and give it a good mix until everything is incorporated. 
 
3. In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Give it a good stir then add it to your pumpkin mixture. Mix until just barely combined.
 
4. Pour into your loaf pan and if you want some extra crunch on top, sprinkle with a generous amount of white sugar. 
 
5. Bake for 55 minutes – or until a toothpick comes out clean. 
 
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

