Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

One of the things that I’ve realized very quickly is that parenthood means that you exist in a state of perpetual motion.

When Ava is awake, the time is filled with feeding, burping, changing, making faces, etc. When she’s asleep it consists of scrambling around trying to fit in as many non-baby duties as possible (like showering…). Steve and I have acquired that parental “bounce” – that swaying motion everyone seems to adopt when holding a squirming infant. It’s become so second nature, in fact, that lately I find myself doing the bounce even when I’m not holding Ava – which is something that I’m sure makes people think that I either have to pee really badly or I’m a crazy person.

Needless to say, when it comes to eating, I’ve become a fan of anything I can shove in my face with only one hand. Smoothies, sandwiches, apples….perfect! Spaghetti…..not so much. Since I had some leftover pumpkin from creating the Pumpkin French Toast, I decided to put it to good use and make a Pumpkin Pie Smoothie.

This smoothie is probably the most perfect thing I’ve ever created. It’s fairly healthy (score!) which makes it an appropriate breakfast item, but it tastes like a dessert, which makes it oh so much better! If pumpkin pie had a skinnier, hotter cousin…this would be it.

When I was thinking about this in my head, I had grand visions of including lots of healthy things like flaxseeds or protein powder. And then I realized…who am I kidding? I don’t own any of that stuff. If your pantry is significantly cooler than mine, you can go ahead an add that stuff in to your hearts content.

Here’s the recipe!

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

1/4 cup rolled oats

1 cup milk

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 frozen banana

1 Tbsp. molasses

1 Tbsp. brown sugar

1/4 tsp. nutmeng

1/4 tsp. ginger

1/4 tsp. allspice

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 graham cracker, crumbled (optional)

1. Soak the oats in the milk for approx. 1 hour to soften.

2. Puree everything in a blender until smooth.

3. Garnish with graham cracker crumbs.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

