Butternut Squash Soup with Apple Cider Cream


I love to think of myself as super flexible.

Laid back.

Ultra-chill.

But I realized, as I was standing in the middle of the Newark International airport having a mini meltdown in front of a very unsympathetic airlines representative and three uncomfortable businessmen that I am most definitely….not.

In retrospect, it was a very minor situation. My previous flight had been delayed, which meant I missed my connecting flight to Portland. And since there were no more flights going to Portland that night, I was put on one the following morning. Totally not a big deal.

But a week full of very little sleep and catching up with friends had left me incredibly homesick, and to add insult to injury, I was stranded in Jersey.

Jersey, people!

Thus resulting in my very public display of emotion in front of the three businessmen (who really didn’t know what to do with an over emotional 20 something) and a very annoyed airline rep. I don’t do emotional outbursts often, but when I do, boy are they dramatic!

I checked myself into a hotel, and after room service, two glasses of (kinda mediocre) cabernet, and some channel surfing, things were looking a little less bleak. I started thinking of all the things I was grateful for.

– My amazing friends in Rochester. Who let me throw impromptu Thanksgiving dinners, don’t mind that I clean and reorganize their kitchen, and even let me crash their anniversary.

– My wonderful husband. Who showed up at the airport with flowers and chocolate.

– My parents, who drove three hours to Rochester just because we were on the same coast line. Who continue to tell me that I can do anything I put my mind to (including running for office).

So I arrived home that afternoon. Realized, very humbly, that that I had a lot to be grateful for. And made this soup. Which tasted like autumn, and home, and thanksgiving all rolled into one.

Butternut Squash Soup with Apple Cider Cream

from Bon Apetit

5 Tbsp. butter

2 1/2 lbs. butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed (approx. 6 cups)

2 cups chopped leeks

1/2 cup chopped carrot

1/2 cup chopped celery

2 small apples, peeled, cored, and chopped

1 1/2 tsp. thyme

1/2 tsp. dried sage

5 cups chicken broth

1 1/2 cups apple cider (divided)

2/3 cup sour cream

1/2 cup whipping cream

 

1. Melt butter in a large heavy pot over medium-high heat. Add squash, leeks, carrot, and celery and cook for about 15 minutes until the veggies are soft.

2. After the veggies have softened, mix in the apples, thyme, and sage. Add the broth and 1 cup of cider. Bring to a boil.Reduce heat and simmer for about 30 minutes, until the apples are tender.

3. Using a blender or a food processor, work in batches to puree the vegetables until smooth. Return to the pot.

4. In a small saucepan, boil the remaining 1/2 cup of cider until reduced to 1/4 cup. Let it cool. Add the sour cream to a small bowl and whisk in the apple cider. Chill.

5. Mix the whipping cream into the soup. Ladle into bowls and top with apple cider cream.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Gram Quick says:

    Yummy sounding soup. I made a similar one this week with roasted acorn squash. I don’t envy you for that plane trip east.

Leave a Reply

