Peach Vanilla Bean Jam

This weekend I picked and froze 36 cups of blueberries.

I have 3 lbs. of cucumbers that I plan on pickling.

I bought 9 lbs. of peaches which I froze and also turned into this lovely jam.

And I’m not done yet!

I can see Steve trying to conceal his horror at my increasingly insane urge to either pickle or preserve as many fruits or vegetables as I can get my hands on.

“Honey….you know the winter’s in Portland are fairly mild, right? And you know that we only live about a mile away from a grocery store?”

Me (with crazy eyes): “Yeah….but this is super fun! We wouldn’t ever have to shop again! It’s just like in the olden days…..ooooh look! More peaches!”

I can freely admit that I can be a little……intense…when I get absorbed in a project.

But lucky for you, (and us!), all that insanity paid off in some absolutely  WONDERFUL jam.


Peaches.Lemon.VanillaBean.Sugar. That’s it.

Super easy! If you already know how to can stuff. If not, well then…..it’s less easy. But still tasty!

I’m not going to talk about how to can stuff…..I will kindly refer you to YouTube for that nonsense.

Peach Vanilla Bean Jam

from Annie’s Eats

3 lbs. ripe peaches – pealed and cut up into chunks

3 1/2 cups sugar

1 vanilla bean

Juice of 1 lemon

1. In a large pot combine the peaches, sugar, and lemon. Slice the vanilla bean in half lengthwise and scrape out the black seeds into the pot. Then go ahead and add the scraped pod as well.

2. Cook over medium head until the mixture starts to boil. Then reduce the heat and let it simmer until it turns a dark orange color and is slightly thickened. (I simmered mine for a little over an hour) Fish out the vanilla bean pods and discard.

3. If you are canning, pour into jars and can using your preferred method. If you aren’t, pour into containers and store in the refrigerator.

That’s it! Enjoy!

Comments

  1. OMG Sounds so yummy! I think I will have to try this this weekend!

Leave a Reply

