Blackberries with Sweet Cream

You know one thing that I’ve never gotten into? (Much to the hubs disappointment)

Lawn games.

I remember a few years ago, Steve was trying to explain to me the basic concept of Bocce.

Steve: “Well, first you through the little ball, and then you throw the big ball at it. Who ever gets the closet wins!”

Me: “Then what?”

Steve: “Well thats it…then you do it all over again”

Me: “……….”

I know, I know. I’m offending Bocce enthusiasts everywhere. I’m sure there’s a specific skill set involved. Gauging wind speed, terrain, etc. Ho hum.

But you know one thing that I totally and completely get? Berries and cream. It’s just cosmically meant to be. You can’t fight it.

Simple. Tangy. Perfection.

You can keep your Bocce, Steve. I’ll just sit on the lawn and eat this.

Blackberries with Sweet Cream

adapted from Southern Living

1 cup white sugar

1 envelope gelatin

2 cups whipping cream

16 oz. sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

Blackberries – approximately 2 cups. Or as many as you dang well please.

1. In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar, gelatin, and heavy cream. Let it stand for 1 minute.

2. Turn stovetop to medium heat and stir constantly for about 5 minutes.

3. Stir in sour cream and vanilla until completely combined.

4. Remove from heat and pour into individual dishes (I had packed my ramekins, but those would have worked perfectly!)

5. Chill for 2+ hours.

6. Serve topped with berries!

Comments

  1. Don’t forget croquet! You can eat berries and cream while we play croquet too!

Leave a Reply

