Memorial Day Pie, Part 2: Mom’s Cherry Pie

This may be my favorite pie in the entire world. And let me clarify, I don’t just mean cherry pie in general….I mean THIS cherry pie. And this one only. I remember asking for this pie for my birthday instead of cake.

Yeah….I was a little weirdo.

This recipe was my mother’s….and she got it from her mother….who may or may not have gotten it from the back of a tapioca box.

When I was a teenager I told my mom that I wanted to learn how to make this pie. The secret, she said, was to use tart, canned cherries. Not cherry pie filling. If you use cherry pie filling, you might as well just throw the can into the pie crust as well. And trust me…canned cherry pie filling does not happy childhood memories make.

Say “NO” to the can. Make this pie…..TODAY!

My Mom’s Cherry Pie

1 recipe double pie crust pastry

2 cans of tart, pitted cherries in water

1 1/2 cups white sugar

3 heaping Tbsp. tapioca

1/4 tsp. almond extract

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. Drain one can of cherries, then place in a medium saucepan on the stove. Add the ENTIRE second can.

3. Mix in sugar, tapioca, and almond extract with cherries. Stir over medium heat until the mixture comes to a boil.

4. Remove from heat and pour into a ready made pastry shell. Use the second pastry to form a lattice crust over the top.

5. Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until crust is golden brown, and filling is bubbly.

Serve to friends and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

